Connect with us
Subscribe Today!


NEC players earn spots on Class 11B all-state team

Aberdeen Roncalli’s Will Haskell, left and Josh Schaunaman, right, try to tackle Dakota Hills’ Dylan Rumpza, center, during a game earlier this season at Dacotah Bank Stadium. Photo by John Davis taken 9/8/2023

The Northeast Conference is well represented on this year’s Class 11B all-state football team.

First team members include Aiden Fisher and Josh Schaunaman of Aberdeen Roncalli, Logan Ringgenberg of Groton, and Robert Begalka, Kaden TeKrony, and Trey Maaland of Deuel.

Fisher was selected as a defensive back. The junior had 60 tackles and picked off four passes. “Aiden played free safety for us and was our top defensive back on a defense that gave up 12 ppg this year and 52 yards passing per game,” said Roncalli coach Billy Young. “He intercepted four passed and broke up 11 others.”

Aberdeen Roncalli’s Aiden Fisher, right, tries to stiff arm Dakota Hills’ Tigh Gaikowski, center as the Grizzlies’ Newton Campbell, far left, closes in during a game earlier this season at Dacotah Bank Stadium. Photo by John Davis taken 9/8/2023

On offense, Fisher rushed for 429 yards, passed for 415 yards, and had 250 yards receiving. He accounted for nine touchdowns.

Opponents soon found out where Schaunaman was located on the Roncalli defense. The senior had 71 tackles, three forced fumbles, three fumble recoveries and one interception this past year. He finished with 201 career tackles.

“Josh has been a mainstay on our defense for the past three years. He got his first start late in his freshman year and started every game since,” Young said. “He led us in tackles two of the past three years, all seasons in which we went to the quarterfinals. This year he led a defense in tackles that gave up less than 70 yards rushing per game.”

Aberdeen Roncalli’s Zane Backous, right, tries to trip up Groton Area’s Korbin Kucker (9) as the Tigers’ Logan Ringgenberg (58) looks on during a game earlier this season in Groton. Photo by John Davis taken 8/18/2023

Ringgenberg was a staple on the offensive line as a three-year starter for the Tigers. “Logan has been one of the most athletic linemen I’ve coached in a long time,” said Groton coach Shaun Wanner. “He has great speed for his size and was our best pulling guard/tackle for the past three years.”

Maaland was a major force for the Cardinals from his quarterback position. The senior passed for 1,168 yards and 11 touchdowns, and rushed for 1,183 yards and 19 TDs. He finished with career totals of 2,564 yards passing and 29 touchdowns, and 2,237 yards rushing and 37 TDs.

Deuel’s Trey Maaland (5) looks to run past Aberdeen Roncalli’s Landon Zikmund, right, during a game earlier this season at Dacotah Bank Stadium. Photo by John Davis taken 8/25/2023

“Trey Maaland is an incredible football player. His dual threat attributes made him a tough opponent to game plan for,” said Deuel coach Dustin Hourigan. “Trey’s arm strength allowed him to stretch defenses while his unique combination of speed and power allowed him break away opportunities and also the ability to gain yards after contact all year long.”

Begalka was selected as an offensive lineman and played a key role in Deuel’s high-powered offense. The senior blocked for a team that rushed for 2,115 yards this season and had 35 pancake blocks. “Robert Begalka has elite strength. Add to that his high football IQ you have a very effective o-lineman,” Hourigan said. “He made a lot of our adjustment calls this year up front which helped contribute to our success running the ball.

Tekrony was a two-year starter for Deuel upfront. During that time, the Cardinals rushed for 4,037 yards and he collected 48 pancake blocks. “Kaden TeKrony’s size and athleticism made him a highly effective run blocker this year,” Hourigan said. “Add in the fact that he has a block through the whistle mentality and you have a blocker that we definitely ran behind.”

Colby Kolda of Miller-Highmore-Harrold and Brent Bearman of Webster were both honorable mention selections.

Kolda was a key contributor on offense. He had 691 yards rushing and four touchdowns, and 278 yards receiving and four TDs this past season. “Colby has been a workhorse this year,” said M-H-H coach Travis Heasley. “He was the center of our offense and was a force to take down and had some incredible highlight-reel runs.”

Bearman racked up 101 tackles (11.2 tackles per game), one forced fumble, and three sacks this past season from his linebacker position.

“Brent is a very talented football player and an excellent linebacker. He has a natural nose for finding the football, but is also very technical and disciplined when it comes to reading his keys and filling where he needs to,” said Webster coach Tyler Wagner. “He is a sideline to sideline player who constantly finds himself around the ball and making big plays. His motor, physicality, and effort can never be questioned.”

Camron Maciejewski of Hot Springs was selected as the Class 11B All-American player.

Here is a complete list of all of the Class 11B all-state players.


Quarterback â€” Boden Schiller, Sioux Valley.

Tight Ends-Fullbacks-HBacks â€” Hudsyn Ruesink, Sioux Valley; Colby Carruthers, Tri-Valley; and Aiden Barfuss, Winner.

Running Backs â€” Camron Maciejewski, Hot Springs; Donovan rose, Sioux Valley; and Jhett Breen, Wagner.

Wide Receivers â€”Ryder Michalek, Woonsocker-Wessington Springs-Sanborn Central; Garrett Merkley, Elk Point-Jefferson and Ray Travnicek, Parker.

Linemen â€” Noah Best and Spencer Calhoon, Winner; Robert Begalka, Deuel; Hudson Kempf, Elk Point-Jefferson; Logan Ringgenberg, Groton Area; and Levi Wieman, Parker.


Linemen â€” Caleb Rickenbach, Hot Springs; Evan Fornia, Elk Point-Jefferson; Shawn Hammerbeck, Winner; and Isaac Nehlich, Tri-Valley.

Linebackers â€” Jake Gale, Elk Point-Jefferson; Colin Iverson, Hot Springs; Drake Lindberg, RC Christian; and Sam Kooima, Lead-Deadwood.

Defensive Backs â€” Trey Maaland, Deuel; Eli McFarland, Tri-Valley; Blake Larson, Woonsocket-Wessington Springs-Sanborn Central; and Aiden Fisher, Aberdeen Roncalli.


Athletes â€” Drake Gustafson, Bridgewater-Emery/Ethan and Josh Schaunaman, Aberdeen Roncalli.

Special Teams â€” Braden Peterson, Hot Springs; and Carson Timmins, Elk Point-Jefferson.

HONORABLE MENTION â€” Holden Havlik, Woonsocket-Wessington Springs-Sanborn Central; Colby Kolda, Miller/Highmore-Harrold; Wesley Schlabach and Braylon Marshall, RC Christian; Connor Hanson, Lead-Deadwood; Brent Bearman, Webster Area; Jason Zeeb, Bridgewater-Emery/Ethan; Braxton Knudson, Wagner; and Reese Smith, Tri-Valley.

All-American â€” Camron Maciejewski, Hot Springs.

Purchase a Photo

Browse By Category

Browse By Month

More in Football

Subscribe Today!