Connect with us
Dacotah Bank


Barnes named National Coach of the Year

Here are the South Dakota National Coach of the Year finalists. Front from left are Merle Aske of Aberdeen Central, Bill Vincent of Sioux Valley, Todd Thorson of Ipswich, and Cindee Mutchelknaus of Menno. Back from left are Jeff VanLeur of Bridgewater-Emery, Joey Struwe of Sioux Falls Lincoln, Don Barnes of O'Gorman, Tom McGough of Miller, Tony Sturgeon of Brandon Valley, Kirk Hogen of Vermillion, and John Donovan of Chamberlain. Courtesy photo


Sioux Falls, SD – The National High School Athletic Coaches Association has named the 2023 NHSACA Coach of the Year Winners. To be considered for this award, a nominee has been determined to have outstanding coaching longevity and win-loss record, championship years, awards received, and service to the coaching profession and the State of South Dakota athletes.

The 2023 Coach of the Year winner from South Dakota was Don Barnes of O’Gorman High School, Coach of the Year in Tennis. He was honored at the National Awards Banquet at the NHSACA 54th Annual Conference in Lincoln, NE on Wednesday, June 22, 2022. Athletic directors and coaches in 19 sports attend this annual event throughout the United States.

Other finalists from South Dakota were Jeff VanLeur of Bridgewater-Emery High School in Football, Joey Struwe of Sioux Falls Lincoln High School in Athletic Administration, Tom McGough of Miller High School in Boys’ Cross Country, Troy Sturgeon of Brandon Valley High School in Girls’ Track & Field, Kirk Hogen of Vermillion High School in Golf, and John Donovan of Chamberlain High School in Wrestling, Marla Tegethoff of Platte-Geddes in Special Sports (Cheer), Merle Aske of Aberdeen Central High School in Soccer, Bill Vincent of Sioux Valley High School in Boys’ Basketball, Todd Thorson of Ipswich High School in Girls’ Cross Country, and Cindee Mutchelknaus of Menno High School in Assistant in Girls’ Sports.

Also inducted into the 2023 NHSACA Hall of Fame were Ken Bruckner of Menno and Doc Michel of Black Hawk. Ruth Rehn of Greeley, CO was also selected as the Kathy Holloway Woman of Inspiration Award recipient and Virg Polak of Watertown received the NHSACA Distinguished Service Award.

Purchase a Photo

Browse By Category

Browse By Month

More in General