Connect with us
Subscribe Today!

Girls Basketball

Bragg named Class A second-team all-state, Rozell third-team pick

Aberdeen Roncalli’s Madelyn Bragg, center, pushes the ball up the floor ahead of teammate Olivia Hanson, left and Hamlin’s Ashtyn Abraham, far left, Ally Abraham, back right and Kylee Wadsworth, far right, during the Class A Championship game in Watertown. Photo by John Davis taken 3/13/2021

Madelyn Bragg of Aberdeen Roncalli was named a Class A second-team all-state selection while Addison Rozell of Redfield was a third-team pick announced by the South Dakota Basketball Coaches Association.

Bragg, a junior, averaged 16.7 points and 9.2 rebounds and had 49 blocks for the State A champion Cavaliers. Rozell, a senior, averaged 20.3 points, 15 rebounds, and 3.2 assists per game.

Kaylee Timmer of St. Thomas More was named the Class A Player of the Year.

Here is a look at the players on each of the teams.

Subscribe Today!

First team selections include Haleigh Timmer (Sr.) of St. Thomas More (20.4 points, 7.3 rebounds, 3.8 assists, 52 steals), Bella Swedlund (Jr.) of Winner (22.5 points, 8.2 rebounds, 3.9 assists, 62 steals), Lexi Unruh (Sr.) of Sioux Falls Christian (23.8 points, 4.6 rebounds), Rylee Rosenquist (Jr.) of Dakota Valley (20.1 points, 7.9 rebounds, 4.4 assists, 70 steals), Emilee Fox (Fr.) of Mount Vernon-Plankinton (19.6 points, 6.4 rebounds, 4.9 assists, 72 steals), and Madisen Koepsell (Sr.) of McCook Central-Montrose (19.1 points, 11.4 rebounds, 57 steals).

Second team selections include Kalla Bertram (Sr.) of Winner (19.3 points, 5.5 rebounds, 3.3. assists, 96 steals), Katie Vasecka (Fr.) of Tea Area (19.4 points, 7.2 rebounds, 50 blocks), Cassidy Siemonsma (Sr.) of West Central (16.1 points, 9.3 rebounds), Kami Wadsworth (So.) of Hamlin (18.1 points, 6 rebounds, 3.9 assists), Madelyn Bragg (Jr.) of Aberdeen Roncalli (16.7 points, 9.2 rebounds, 49 blocks), and Olivia Kieffer (So.) of Rapid City Christian (22.6 points, 6.5 rebounds, 7.6 assists, 85 steals).

Third team selections include Lexi Plitzuweit (Sr.) of Vermillion (15.1 points, 8.9 rebounds, 5 assists), Addison Rozell (Sr.) of Redfield (20.3 points, 15 rebounds, 3.2 assists), Lizzie Olson (Sr.) of Garretson (16.9 points, 10.8 rebounds), Olivia Ritter (Sr.) of Tea Area (17.7 points, 6.7 rebounds, 3.1 assists, 60 steals), Claire Sheppard (Fr.) of Flandreau (18.1 points, 7.4 rebounds), and Emma Yost (So.) of Parkston (16.8 points, 12.3 rebounds, 3.6 assists).

Timmer was a first-team selection in 2019 and 2020, while Fox and Ritter were on the second team in 2020, and Rosenquist and Olson were on the third team. Unruh was on the first team in 2019, while Swedlund was on the second team and Koepsell the third team.

More in Girls Basketball

Subscribe Today!