Connect with us
Dacotah Bank


Isakson selected to Class 11B all-state squad

Aberdeen Roncalli’s Jackson Isakson, right, approaches the ball held by teammate Abe Kretchman, left, as Isakson kicked a 42-yard field goal during a game in Redfield this past season. Isakson is the Class 11B all-state kicker. Photo by John Davis taken 9/2/2022

Aberdeen Roncalli’s Jackson Isackson is a member of the Class 11B all-state football team. The senior made the honor unit as a kicker.

Isackson, who is headed to South Dakota State next season, holds the Roncalli record for longest field goal and this past season tied the school record for most field goals made in the storied program.

He made six field goals, four of which were 42 yards or longer. He also made 22 PAT kicks. He finished with 18 career field goals tying a Roncalli record. He was ranked as the 69th best kicker in the country by Kohls/ESPN. “Jackson capped off his high school career with another outstanding season,” said Roncalli coach Billy Young. “His ability has been an invaluable asset to us, not just this year, but over the past five years.”

A pair of Deuel players also made the all-state squad. Senior Gavin Benck was named as a tight end/running back, while fellow senior Owen Quail was chosen under the athlete category.

Benck caught eight passes for 234 yards (29.3 yards per catch) and also had 21 pancake blocks. He ran his career totals to 13 receptions for 303 yards with a touchdown, and 23 pancakes. “Gavin has great hands and route running ability,” said Deuel coach Dustin Hourigan. “He was someone we ran behind that we knew we could trust blocking out on the edge.”

Quail was always around the ball for the Cardinals. He had 60 total tackles (22 solo, 38 assists) including five for loss. He also intercepted three passes, recovered two fumbles and caused another. He finished with 138 total tackles. “Our defense was designed to put Owen in key coverage zones as well as allow him to play freely in run support,” Hourigan said. “He was a sure-tackling safety.He called out coverages and checked out of or into differing defensive schemes.”

There were also four honorable mention selections from the area. They are Maddox May of Aberdeen Roncalli, Ronnie Begalka of Deuel, Trey Huber of Clark-Willow Lake, and Tate Hoffman of Miller-Highmore-Harrold.

May rushed for 1,035 yards and 12 touchdowns this year and capped his career with 2,056 yards rushing. “He became only the 8th running back in school history to rush for over 1,000 yards in a season and he did this splitting time with another RB,” said Roncalli coach Billy Young.

Begalka blocked for a team that rushed for 1,945 yards and passed for 802 yards, and had 34 pancake blocks. “Ronnie is an intelligent offensive lineman who read defensive fronts and communicated changes to blocking schemes to the rest of the unit,” said Deuel coach Dustin Hourigan.

Huber had 275 yards rushing, 546 yards passing, in six games for the Cyclones. “He has great perception, hardest worker on the team, great vision,” said Clark-Willow Lake coach Dave Severson.

Hoffman finished with 336 yards rushing and 2 TDs, 335 yards receiving with 4 TDs, and also passed for a score.:”After our starting TE went down Tate moved from TB to TE and was our leading receiver,” said MHH coach Travis Heasley.

State champion Elk Point-Jefferson has seven all-state selections while runner-up Winner has six. Elk Point-Jefferson senior linebacker Benjamin Swatek was selected as the All-American.

Here is the complete 11B list:

Offense — QB: Reed Rus, Mount Vernon-Plankinton, sr.; TE-FB-HB: Devon Schmitz, Elk Point-Jefferson, sr; Aiden Barfuss, Winner, jr.; and Gavin Benck, Deuel, sr. RBs: Lucas Hueser, Elk Point-Jefferson, sr.; Riley Orel, Winner, sr.; and Landon Iverson, Hot Springs, sr. WRs: Jackson Grady, McCook Central-Montrose, sr.; Easton Ogle, St. Thomas More, sr.; and Sutton Arend, Bridgewater-Emery/Ethan, sr. OL: Chace Fornia and Ty Trometer, Elk Point-Jefferson, srs.; Jack Kruger, Winner, sr.; Jake Vanhout, McCook Central-Montrose, sr.; Toby Kneen, Woonsocket-Wessington Springs-Sanborn Central, sr.; and Aidan Brower, Sioux Valley, sr.

Aberdeen Roncalli’s Ben Rohl, right, his tackled by Deuel’s Cooper Schiernbeck (4) as Gavin Benck (42) closes in during a game last season at Swisher Field. Behind Rohl is teammate Abe Kretchman. Benck is a member of the Class 11B all-state team. Photo by John Davis taken 10/1/2021

Defense — DL: Aguer Van Sickle, Bridgewater-Emery/Ethan, sr.; Ethan Bartels, Winner, sr.; Gavin Jacobs, Elk Point-Jefferson, sr.; and Caleb Rickenbach, Hot Springs, jr. LBs: Benjamin Swatek, Elk Point-Jefferson, sr.; Jack Peters, Winner, sr.; Camron Maciejewski, Hot Springs, jr.; and Matt Larson, St. Thomas More, sr. DBs: Blake Volmer, Winner, sr.; Will Cleveland, McCook Central-Montrose, sr.; Hunter Geary, Elk Point-Jefferson, sr.; and Ethan Hoffman, Flandreau, sr.

Athletes — Owen Quail, Deuel, sr.; and Preston Iverson, Hot Springs, sr.

Special Teams Players — Jackson Isakson, Aberdeen Roncalli, sr.; and Boden Schiller, Sioux Valley, jr.

Honorable Mention — Jackson Remmers and Kade Grocott, McCook Central-Montrose, jrs.; Austin Hoiten, McCook Central-Montrose, jr.; and Boston Katzer, McCook Central-Montrose, so.; Maddox May, Aberdeen Roncalli, sr.; Dan Laufman, Mount Vernon-Plankinton, sr.; Ronnie Begalka, Deuel, sr.; Elijah Hoyt, Rapid City Christian, sr.; Camden Jost, Woonsocket-Wessington Springs-Sanborn Central, sr.; Trey Huber, Clark-Willow Lake, sr.; Tate Hoffman, Miller/Highmore-Harrold, sr.; and Kolby Peters, Flandreau, sr.

All-American — Swatek.

Purchase a Photo

Browse By Category

Browse By Month

More in Football