Connect with us


Carda, Krenz chosen for Class 11AA all-state team

Aberdeen Central’s Karson Carda, right, tries to get past Sioux Falls Lincoln’s Samuel Hindbjorgen, center, as the Golden Eagles’ Samson Flakus, far left and Andrew Jorgenson, left, help out on the play during a game this past season at Golden Eagles Field. Carda and teammate Jacob Krenz are members of the Class 11AA all-state team. Photo by John Davis taken 10/20/2022

A pair of Aberdeen Central players are on the Class 11AA all-state football team.

Seniors Karson Carda and Jacob Krenz both made the team on offense. Carda was selected as a running back, while Krenz was chosen as an offensive lineman.

The duo helped lead the Golden Eagles to a semifinals of the Class 11AA playoffs for the second straight season.

Carda rushed for 1,563 yards (6.6 yards per carry) and scored a dozen touchdowns this past season. He finished his career with 2,677 yards. “Karson is a very coachable young man. He has dedicated himself to the team and has done everything we have asked him to do,” said Central coach Justin Briese. “He has grown into a leader and a trusted member of our program. On the field he is a physical ball carrier, loves to block and a fierce competitor.”

Krenz was a load to handle along the offensive line. The senior had 25 pancakes blocked allowed just one sack for the Golden Eagles. He finished his career with 36 pancakes. “Jacob is the anchor of our offensive line,” Briese said. “He committed himself to the weight room in the offseason and joined wrestling to better learn how to move his feet and control other bodies. He is a leader on and off the field. It’s always a good day when he’s in charge of the stereo in the locker room.”

Central’s Cole Artz and Brian Johnson were selected as honorable mention.

Artz had 31 tackles, 10 assists, two tackles for loss and an interception this season. “Cole was our most physical and dependable corner,” Briese said. “He was consistently in good position and made plays on the ball.”

Johnson had 26 solo tackles, 10 Assists, 4 Sacks, 5 tackles for loss, 2 forced fumbles and 3 fumble recoveries this past season. “He has a relentless motor and demonstrated it many times as he tracked down plays away,” Briese said.

Here is a look at the complete 11AA list:

Offense — QB: Lincoln Kienholz, Pierre, sr. TE-FB-HB: Jett Zebel, Pierre, jr.; Keegan DeYoung, Tea Area, jr. and Tyson Brandt, Brookings, jr. RB: Chase Van Tol, Tea Area, sr.; Karson Carda, Aberdeen Central, sr.; and Juven Hudson, Watertown, jr. WRs: Jack Merkwan, Pierre, sr.; Tyler Sohler, Yankton, sr.; and Tyan Buus, Sturgis, jr. OL: Matthew Coverdale, Pierre, jr.; Christian Busch, Pierre, sr.; Jacob Krenz, Aberdeen Central, sr.; Griffen Schnider, Tea Area, sr.; Chase Crocker, Watertown, sr.; and Camen Max, Mitchell, sr.

Defense — DL: Jason Maciejczak, Pierre, sr.; Trevon Austell, Mitchell, sr.; Caleb Loehr, Brookings, sr.; and Reis Kirschenman, Tea Area, sr. LBs: Gavin Stotts, Pierre, sr.; Brady Hartwig, Spearfish, sr.; Reese Jacobs, Sturgis, sr.; and Jaxton Eck, Brookings, sr.; DBs: Jagger Tyler, Mitchell, sr.; Blake Thompson, Tea Area, sr.; Cody Oswald, Yankton, sr. and Jacob Meyer, Pierre, sr.

Athletes —Rugby Ryken, Yankton, sr.; Cade Kaiser, Pierre, jr.; Owen Cass, Sturgis, sr.; and Elliot DeVries, Huron, sr.

Special Teams Players — Jayden Wiebe, Pierre, sr.; and Trevor Paulson, Yankton, sr.

Honorable Mention — Maddix Slykhuis and Jackson Smythe, Tea Area, sr.; Quinston Luellman-Clark, Huron, sr.; Gunner Rohloff, Sturgis, sr.; Brayden Delahoyde, Spearfish, jr.; Cole Artz and Brian Johnson, Aberdeen Central, srs.; and Lukas Bennett, Mitchell, sr.

All-American — Kienholz.

State champion Sioux Falls Jefferson tops the Class 11AAA all-state squad with double-digits selections led by All-American designation wide receiver Giffin Wilde.

Here is a look at the complete 11AAA list:

Offense — QB: Taylen Ashley, SF Jefferson, sr. and Bennett Dannenbring, O’Gorman, sr.; TE-FB-HB: Ryland Satter, O’Gorman, jr.; Sam Hindbjorgen, SF Lincoln, sr.; and Sam Siegfried, SF Jefferson, sr. RBs: Nelson Wright, SF Jefferson, sr.; Jaxsen Grevengoed, SF Roosevelt, jr.; and Maverick Jones, O’Gorman, jr. WRs: Griffin Wilde, SF Jefferson, sr.; Jack Smith, SF Lincoln, jr.; and Dylan Langerock, Brandon Valley, sr. OL: Sawyer Huntimer and David Grabow, SF Jefferson, srs.; Isaac Johnson, Brandon Valley, sr.; Aden Scott, O’Gorman, sr.; and Evan Vesely and Caiden Mason, Harrisburg, srs.

Defense — DL: Abraham Myers, SF Washington, sr.; Jack Detert, Harrisburg, sr.; Thomas Heiberger and Dashawn Rohlik, SF Jefferson, jrs.; and Brycen Mitchell, SF Lincoln, jr.; LBs: Gabe Gutierrez, SF Lincoln, sr.; Nate Ratzlaff, O’Gorman, sr.; Dawson Sechser, SF Jefferson, jr.; Tayden Nave, SF Roosevelt, jr.; and Tate Crosswait, RC Stevens, jr. DBs: Tim Bishop, Harrisburg, sr.; London Kolb and Beau Giblin, SF Jefferson, srs.; Mandalla Mohamed, SF Washington, sr.; and Henry Theobald, O’Gorman, jr.

Athletes — Tate Schafer, SF Lincoln, jr.; Max Carlson, Harrisburg, jr.; Julian Scott, RC Stevens, sr.; and Mason DeSchepper, SF Roosevelt, sr.

Special Teams Players — Ryder Haas, Brandon Valley, jr.; and Peyton Hage, O’Gorman, sr.

Honorable Mention — Camdyn Frederes, Cohen Henry, Tyler Horner and Anthony Erickson, SF Roosevelt, srs.; Tytan Tryon, Harrisburg, jr.; Richard Benenge, Harrisburg, sr.; and Ty Naaktgeboren, SF Roosevelt, sr.

All-American — Wilde.

Dell Rapids leads the Class 11A all-state football team. The state champion Quarriers have seven members on the honor unit.

Runner-up West Central landed five players on the all-state team, led by All-American selection senior quarterback Justin Zirpel.

Milbank Area’s Eli Johnson was an honorable mention pick.

Johnson had 263 yards receiving (14 yards per catch) and 2 touchdowns and 50 yards rushing this past year. “Eli was our best player on offense,” said Bulldogs coach Brian Allmendinger. “We tried to get the ball in his hands whenever we could.”

Here is a complete look at the 11A list:

Offense —QB: Justin Zirpel, West Central, sr.; TE-FB-HB: Owen Heath, West Central, sr.; Jaxsen Tadlock, Beresford, sr.; and Noah Hutmacher, Chamberlain, sr. RBs: Mason Stubbe, Dell Rapids, jr.; Peyton Fridrich, Beresford, sr.; and Kale Ask, Canton, sr. WRs: Porter Ihnen, Lennox, jr.; Carter Van Donge, SF Christian, sr.; and Jaxon Hennies, Dakota Valley, sr. OL: Andrew Zimmer, West Central, sr.; Landon Schurch, Beresford, sr.; Tucker Kooiman, SF Christian, sr.; Ryler Evans, Dell Rapids, sr.; Cody Peterson, Lennox, sr.; and Carter Traill, Dell Rapids, sr.

Defense — DL: Crew Heier, West Central, jr.; Avery Herting, Canton, sr.; Riley Zommermaand, SF Christian, sr.; and Treyse Eastman, Dell Rapids, jr. LBs: Caden DeVries, Madison, sr.; Josh Merkle, Canton, sr.; Max Kaarre, SF Christian, sr. and Aiden Geraets, Dell Rapids, jr. DBs: Brayden Pankonen, Dell Rapids, sr.; Randy Rosenquist, Dakota Valley, sr.; Dylan Stromer, West Central, sr.; and Cole Snyder, SF Christian, so.

Athletes — Jack Henry, Dell Rapids, jr.; and Braeden Wulf, Lennox, sr.

Special Teams Players — Matt Anderson, Canton, jr.; and Jacob Docter, SF Christian, jr.

Honorable Mention — Ethan Anema, Dakota Valley, sr.; Tate VanOtterloo, Beresford, sr.; James Woodward, SF Christian, sr.; Brayden Witte, SF Christian, so.; Canyon Burkard Chamberlain, jr.; Parker Johnson, Madison, jr.; Ethan Eli, Lennox, sr.; Eli Johnson, Milbank, sr.; and Beau Williams, Canton, sr.

All-American— Zirpel.

Purchase a Photo

Browse By Category

Browse By Month

More in Football