Connect with us
Subscribe Today!


Roncalli wins Redfield team title; Carrels earns medalist honors

Aberdeen Roncalli won the team championship at the Redfield Invitational Golf Tournament on Tuesday. Back left to right are Andrew Gerlach, Gannon May, Mason Carrels, Sawyer Henrich and Coach Jon Murdy; front left to right are Lucas Daggett, Jesse Hernandez and Finn Anderson. Courtesy photo

REDFIELD – Aberdeen Roncalli edged Sioux Valley by three strokes to win the team championship at the Redfield Invitational Golf Tournament on Tuesday. The Cavaliers finished with a 341 total.

“It’s great to get another win,” said Roncalli coach Jon Murdy. “We are still focusing on improving every day.”

Roncalli’s Mason Carrels captured medalist honors with a 76, three strokes better than Parker Puetz of Sioux Valley. Groton’s Brevin Fliehs was third.

“I’m happy that Mason got another win for the year,” Murdy said. “His hard work is starting to pay off.”

The Cavaliers placed three golfers in the top 10. Sawyer Henrich was fifth with an 85, and Jesse Hernandez was seventh with an 87.

Roncalli has its final regular season meet on Tuesday when it competes in the Watertown Invitational.

Team Points: Aberdeen Roncalli 341, Sioux Valley 344, Milbank Area 383, Groton 386, Redfield 406.

Individual Results

1, Mason Carrels, Aberdeen Roncalli, 76; 2, Parker Puetz, Sioux Valley, 79; 3, Brevin Fliehs, Groton, 80; 4, Riley Steen, Sisseton, 85; 5, Sawyer Henrich, Aberdeen Roncalli, 85; 6, Jameson Degen, Sioux Valley, 87; 7, Jesse Hernandez, Aberdeen Roncalli, 87; 8, Tate Steffensen, Sioux Valley, 89; 9, Jack Opitz, Sioux Valley, 89; 10, Jonathan DeBoer, Milbank Area, 89;

11, Kevin Weller, Redfield, 92; 12, Finn Anderson, Aberdeen Roncalli, 93; 13, Justus Osborn, Milbank Area, 94; 14, Gannon May, Aberdeen Roncalli, 94; 15, Owen Fischer, Milbank Area, 94; 16, Mitchell Mack, Redfield, 99; 17, Andrew Gerlach, Aberdeen Roncalli, 99; 18, Jackson Cogley, Groton, 99; 19, Jaxen Campbell, Redfield, 99; 20, Carter Simon, Groton, 103;

21, Tate Larson, Groton, 104; 22, Andrew Marzahn, Groton, 105; 23, Joshua Keeton, Milbank Area, 106; 24, Cole Simon, Groton, 106; 25, Christopher Moberg, Sioux Valley, 108; 26, Charlie Peery, Milbank Area, 111; 27, Tristan O’Daniel, Redfield, 116; 28, Derek Karst, Sisseton, 118; 29, Gregory Brabow, Milbank Area, 119; 30, Seth Domke, Redfield, 120;

31, Aiden Frankenstein, Redfield, 123; 32, Bradley Hansen, Sisseton, 135.

Aberdeen Roncalli JV: 1, Lucas Daggett, 42.

More in Golf