Connect with us


Cavaliers capture POET Invitational championship

Mason Carrels, of Aberdeen Roncalli, left, putts on the fifth hole at Moccasin Creek Country Club as Andrew Gerlach, far right, looks on during a practice round last week. Carrels finished runner-up and the Cavaliers won the team title at the POET Invitational in Milbank on Thursday. Photo by John Davis taken 8/11/2021

MILBANK – Aberdeen Roncalli, thanks to a balanced team effort, won the POET Invitational Golf Tournament at the Whetstone Creek Golf Course on Thursday. The Cavaliers edged Sioux Valley by a single stroke.

Roncalli, which was runner-up to Sioux Valley by 13 strokes on Monday, found a way to edge the Cossacks this time.

Mason Carrels finished second with a 79 with teammate Sawyer Henrich in third with an 84. The Cavaliers had less golfers in the top 10 than Sioux Valley, but used solid scores from Lucas Daggett (91) and Finn Anderson (94) to help secure the team title.

Caleb Barse of Tiospa Zina was the medalist with a 75.

Roncalli is back in action on Monday at the Quarrier Invitational in Dell Rapids before returning to Milbank on Tuesday for the Northeast Conference Tournament.

Team scores: Aberdeen Roncalli 349, Sioux Valley 350, Watertown JV 368, Milbank Area 392, Aberdeen Central JV 413, Redfield 432, Groton 434. Incomplete teams: Sisseton, Tiospa Zina.

Top 10 Individuals

1, Caleb Barse, Tiospa Zina, 75; 2, Mason Carrels, Aberdeen Roncalli, 79; 3, Sawyer Henrich, Aberdeen Roncalli, 84; 4, Jameson Degen, Sioux Valley, 85; 5, Jerome Zebroski, Watertown JV, 85; 6, Jonathan DeBoer, Milbank Area, 87; 7, Tate Steffensen, Sioux Valley 88; 8, Kyan Overbo, Sioux Valley, 88; 9, Kyler Bezdichek, Sioux Valley, 89; 10, Tison Burggraff, Groton, 90.

Aberdeen Central JV golfers: Jackson Ravekllette 96, Ethan Fergel 104, Jack Podoll 106, Aiden Posthumus 107, Jared Klootwyk 114.

Other Aberdeen Roncalli golfers: Lucas Daggett 91, Finn Anderson 95, Andrew Gerlach 99.

Other Groton golfers: Dylan Christensen 110, Alfie Henderson 114, Devon Burggraff 120, Bradley Heinemann 128.

Other Milbank Area golfers: Charlie Peery 96, Owen Fischer 102, Joshua Keeton 107, Justus Osborn 149.

Redfield golfers: Jaxen Campbell 100, Mitchell Mack 101, Kevin Weller 103, Tristan O’Daniel 128, Aiden Frankenstein 158.

Sisseton golfers: Mason Gray 95, Brad Hanson 124.

Other Tiospa Zina golfers: Frank Barse 126.


Aberdeen Roncalli golfers: 1, Jesse Hernandez 84, Gannon May 101.

More in Golf

Subscribe Today!