Connect with us
Subscribe Today!


Larson selected Girls’ Basketball Coach of the Year

Aberdeen Roncalli girls basketball coach Derek Larson, celebrates cutting down a net after the Cavaliers defeated Hamlin in the Class A championship game in Watertown. Larson has been named the Girls' Basketball Coach of the Year by the South Dakota High School Coaches Association. Photo by John Davis taken 3/13/2021

SIOUX FALLS – Derek Larson of Aberdeen Roncalli has been chosen the Girls’ Basketball Coach of the Year by the South Dakota High School Coaches Association.

Gene Brownell of Aberdeen Central was a finalist for Athletic Director of the Year, and Paul Rozell of Aberdeen was a finalist for Official of the Year.

Here is a complete list of the winners:

Gymnastics Coach of the Year: Audra Rew of Mitchell. Finalists: Les Coin of Sioux Falls Lincoln, Dana Nachtigall of Hot Springs, and Caitlin Steffensen of Deuel.

Subscribe Today!

Wrestling Coach of the Year: Thomas Konechne of Kimball/White Lake/Platte-Geddes. Finalists: Matt Donnelly of Philip Area, Shawn Lewis of Pierre, Spencer Novotny of Winner, Derek Outland of Brandon Valley, and Chas Welch of Watertown.

Girls’ Basketball Coach of the Year: Derek Larson of Aberdeen Roncalli. Finalilsts: Jared Bouman of White River, Jamie Parish of Sioux Falls Washington, and Leslie Tvedt of Castlewood.

Boys’ Basketball Coach of the Year; Jeff Gruenhagen of De Smet. Finalists: Mitch Begeman of Sioux Falls Roosevelt, Jay Drake of Vermillion, and Mike Schouten of Sioux Falls Christian.

Athletic Director of the Year: Bill Clements of Dakota Valley. Finalists: Gene Brownell of Aberdeen Central, Paul Nepodal of Deubrook Area, and Joey Struwe of Sioux Falls Lincoln.

Official of the Year: Jerry Beers of Brookings. Finalists: Kris Dozark of Pierre, Angie Kinsley of Murdo, Jeff Lukens of Sioux Falls, Steve Mayer of Vermillion, Darcy Nagel of Rapid City, Paul Rozell of Aberdeen, Mike Watson of Sturgis, and Maria Wengert of Tea.

Last year’s winners were Gymastics: Rachelle Engelbrecht of Brookings; Wrestling: John Donovan of Chamberlain; Girls’ Basketball: Lorisa Broughton of Corsica-Stickney; Boys’ Basketball: Galen Schoenfeld of Viborg-Hurley; Athletic Director: Terry Rotert of Huron; Official: Matt Clark of Huron.

The award winners will be recognized at the annual awards banquet at 1p.m. Sunday, June 20 at the Ramkota in Rapid City.

More in General