Connect with us
Dacotah Bank

Boys Basketball

All-Decades basketball teams announced

By Mariah Press/Productions;

SIOUX FALLS – The 2011-20 Boys Basketball All-Decade Teams for Class AA, A and B, which features some of the most outstanding performers ever in South Dakota, has been released by Mariah Press/Productions.
The concept for creating Boys Basketball All Decades teams was developed by South Dakota Basketball historian,
Jim Quinn. The Quality Program Service created historical programs that became the cornerstone for the
documentation and presentation of South Dakota basketball history for the past forty years.
The selection format developed by Jim Quinn for his publications in the early 1980s, was continued by Mariah
Press/Productions for the Celebration history of South Dakota high school athletics. This tradition is continued with
the 2011-2020 All Decades Teams and this Simpson’s Printing publication.
A panel of coaches, media people, and sports historians carried out the selection process. The process created a
very thoughtful and thorough perspective on high school basketball in South Dakota. All Decades Teams were
selected for each of the three classes, Class B, Class A, and Class AA. The top ten vote getters become the All
Decades Teams. Players nominated, but not among the top ten vote getters, were placed on the honorable
mention lists.
The complete list of All Decades Teams, 1930’s to the present can be found at the website.
The website provides a thorough and extensive presentation of South Dakota high school
sports narratives and records. The Jim Quinn collection, featuring the historical content of over forty years of quality
basketball programs is an integral portion of the site, created and maintained by Mariah
A total of 77 players were nominated with at least 10 selected to each team in the three classes. If more than 10
are listed on the first team in one of the classes listed, then there was a tie in the voting. The honorable mention
represents those not on the first team but whom received votes. In Class AA, 11 standouts were named to the first
team with 13 honorable mention. In Class A, 10 standouts are listed with 16 honorable mention while Class B has
12 on the first team and 15 honorable mention honorees.
This all-decades listing includes two of the top 10 scorers all-time in South Dakota. Connor Libis of Dell Rapids St. Mary finished his career third in all-time points with 2,731 points, and Matt Mors of Yankton finished his prep career in fourth with 2,707 points. Another honoree surpassed 2,000 points. Paul Bruns of Dakota Valley (Class A) finished with 2,206 career points, good for 18th on the all-time list. In addition, numerous honorees played collegiately from NAIA to NCAA
Division I.
Here is the list of each of the classes –

Mason Archambault, Rapid City Stevens
Cole Bergan, Aberdeen Central
Kobe Busch, Huron
Matt Cartwright, Sioux Falls O’Gorman
Justin Decker, Watertown
Deng Geu, Sioux Falls Washington
Zach Hanson, Pierre
Cedric Lang, Sioux Falls O’Gorman
Matthew Mors, Yankton
Steven Schaefer, Rapid City Stevens
Lane Severyn, Pierre
Honorable Mention (13)
Akoi Akoi, Sioux Falls O’Gorman
Teegan Evers, Huron
Jared Hannigan, Aberdeen Central
Tanner Heiser, Watertown
Brevin Kaiser, Pierre
Colton Kooima, Sioux Falls Roosevelt
Chase Marso, Brandon Valley
Keaton Moffitt, Sioux Falls O’Gorman
Tyler Nagy, Brookings
Sterling Nielsen, Sioux Falls O’Gorman
Addison Park, Sioux Falls Lincon
Tucker Volesky, Mitchell

Peyton Zabel, Pierre
2011- 2020 CLASS A ALL DECADES TEAM (10)
Paul Bruns, Dakota Valley
Skyler Flatten, Clear Lake
Noah Freidel, Tea
Ty Hoglund, Dell Rapids
Dylan LeBrun, Flandreau
Darin Peterka, Miller
A.J. Plitzuweit, Vermillion
Alejandro Rama, Red Cloud
Tayt Vincent, Sioux Valley
Skye Warwick, St. Thomas More
Honorable Mention (16)
Corey Brown, Pine Ridge
Jordan Cornelius, Sisseton
Liam Duffy, St. Thomas More
Aaron Fiegen, Madison
Ethan Freidel, Tea
Seth Friesz, Chamberlain
Brady Fritz, Winner
Justin Hohn, Tea
Zach Horstman, Winner
Corey Jacobsen, Viborg
Tyson Jenkins, Clark Willow Lake
Ryder Kirsch, St. Thomas More
Cole Langer, Dell Rapids
Max Neilson, Sioux Valley
Trae VandeBerg, Madison
Noah Vettrus, West Central
Zech Clemens, Northwestern
Bo Fries, Langford Area
Adam Hofer, James Valley Christian
Lincoln Jordre, Sully Buttes
Gabe King, Irene-Wakonda
Trey King, Irene
Wyatt Krogman, White River
Mason Larson, Langford
Connor Libis, Dell Rapids St. Mary
Jacob Prouty, Clark-Willow Lake
Sawyer Schultz, Bridgewater-Emery
Lorenzo Williams, Wolsey-Wessington
Honorable Mention (15)
Devin Eppard, Chester Area
Kalen Garry, DeSmet
Cory Jacobson, Viborg
Coby Johnson, Platte-Geddes
Clayton Koch, Harding County
Jordan Marquardt, Hanson
Kris Menning, Corsica-Stickney
Joey Mitchell, Hitchcock-Tulare
Justin Morrison, White River
Seth O’Malley, Centerville
Justin Prue, White River
Michael Rogers, Warner
Lincoln Swenson, Newell
Nick Wittler, Sully Buttes
Nathan Wedel, James Valley Christian

Purchase a Photo

Browse By Category

Browse By Month

More in Boys Basketball

Dacotah Bank