Connect with us
Subscribe Today!

Cross Country

Boekelheide wins girls’ race, Central runners runner-up at Pierre

Aberdeen Central’s Joe Perkins, left, runs ahead of Spearfish’s Paul Hourigan, center and Rapid City Central’s Tristan Swezey, right, during the Class AA 3200 meter relay last season at the 2023 State Track and Field Championships at Howard Wood Field in Sioux Falls. Perkins finished second at a cross country meet in Pierre on Friday. Photo by John Davis taken 5/26/2023

PIERRE – Northwestern’s Ella Boekelheide won the girls’ race, while Aberdeen Central claimed a pair of runner-up individual finishes to open the season Friday at the Pierre Invitational. Central’s Joe Perkins finished second in the boys’ race, while Juna Ramey was second in the girls’ race.

While no team scores were kept in the season-opening meet, Central boys’ coach Greg Murley was pleased with his team’s performance out of the gates.

“We are pleased with our times, especially this early in the season,” Murley said. “Our young guys performed well for their first showing this season.”

Central’s top two runners, including Perkins, are sophomores. Sam Schultz finished fifth overall for the Golden Eagles, followed by eighth-grader Tate DeVries.

Subscribe Today!

The Golden Eagles put four runners through in quick succession just outside the top 10, as David VanVeen finished 11th, followed by Carson Ulacher in 12th, Patrick Severson in 13th and Max Nelson in 14th.

“We had six kids run sub-14 minutes,” Murley said, “which is a great starting point for us and are overall better times than we put on the board last year at this meet.”

Northwestern’s Lincoln Woodring finished eighth.

Northwestern’s Ella Boekelheide runs for the finish line during the Lake Region Conference cross country meet last season at Split Rock Country Club in Ipswich. Boekelheide won the Pierre Invitational on Friday. Photo by John Davis taken 10/5/2022

Ramey was the lone Golden Eagle in the top 10 in the girls’ race. Ramey’s second-place effort was followed by a host of Pierre runners.

“She works so incredibly hard,” said Central first-year girls’ coach Eric Pedersen. “It’s nice to see some of those things come to fruition for her.”

Alexis Ketterling finished 12th overall, while Morgan VanVeen’s 15th place showing sparked a group finish of Golden Eagle runners.

“We got a lot of good quality effort out of our kids today,” Pedersen said.

The Golden Eagles head to Sioux Falls next Friday for the Augustana Twilight Meet.

“We’ve got five seniors this year,” Pedersen said, “and they provide us with some good setting the tone and showing the kids the ropes for some of these bigger meets. It’s going to be another really good experience for some younger kids to run with the older ones.”

Boys’ Results

Individual Top 10

1, Jared Lutmer, Pierre, 12:27.55; 2, Joe Perkins, Aberdeen Central, 13:04.90; 3, Wakely Burns, Philip, 13:10.51; 4, Trey Larson, Philip, 13:23.05; 5, Sam Schultz, Aberdeen Central, 13:25.30; 4, Tate DeVries, Aberdeen Central, 13:27.05; 7, Asher Peterson, Philip, 13:31.27; 8, Lincoln Woodring, Northwestern, 13:33.17; 9, Caleb Morris, Pierre, 13:37.05; 10, Jessup Pederson, Dupree, 14:45.43.

Other Aberdeen Central results: 11, David VanVeen, 13:49.55; 12, Carson Urlacher, 13:53.99; 13, Patrick Severson, 13:54.46; 14, Max Nelson, 14:00.81; 17, Christian Wells, 14:09.20; 20, Tino Lopez, 14:19.55; 22, Rylan Johnson, 14:29.34.

Other Northwestern results: 18, Nathan Melius, 14:14.27; 32, Aaron Blachford, 15:09.87; 34, Ty Boekelheide, 15:12.49; 35, Josh Thorson, 15:28.01; 38, Ricky Larson, 16:00.11.

Girls’ Results

Individual Top 10

1, Ella Boekelheide, Northwestern, 15:02.36; 2, Juna Ramey, Aberdeen Central, 16:16.65; 3, Devyn Van Roekel, Pierre, 16:37.12; 4, Mason Berg, Pierre, 16:45.43; 5, Harper Shaffer, Pierre, 16:50.11; 6, Jayne Lees, Pierre, 16:54.02; 7, Gwen Richter, Pierre, 17:07.62; 8, Jazzlyn Rombough, Pierre, 17:09.11; 9, Tara Blachford, Northwestern, 17:27.11; 10, Eliana Rounds, Pierre, 17:28.14.

Other Aberdeen Central results: 12, Alexis Ketterling, 17:36.58; 15, Morgan VanVeen, 18:16.33; 16, Alivia Burgard, 18:25.87; 17, Liz Preszler, 18:26.43; 19, Angie Lopez, 18:57.92; 20, Kaylie Peldo, 18:58.46; 21, Kiana Joerger, 19:01.24; 22, Aglaia Ramey, 19:22.84.

Other Northwestern results: 18, Sophia Troske, 18:40.84.

Purchase a Photo

Browse By Category

Browse By Month

More in Cross Country

Dacotah Bank