Connect with us
Dacotah Bank


Gogue, Fauth named to first-team all-state list

Aberdeen Central’s Sekou Gogue, left, tries to move the ball around Sioux Falls Washington’s Bryson Pritchett, right, during a playoff game at the Brownell Activities Complex. Photo by John Davis taken 10/4/2022

A pair of Aberdeen Central boys’ soccer players have been named first-team all-state members by the South Dakota High School Soccer Coaches Association.

Senior midfielder Sekou Gogue and junior goalie Camden Fauth are both first-team selections, while senior forward Gabe Johnson is a second-team honoree.

Gogue made his presence felt every time he stepped onto the field. The captain scored seven goals and had five assists for the Golden Eagles before getting injury in the opening half of Central’s first-round playoff game against Sioux Falls Washington.

Fauth played a key role in Central’s defense, recording 51 saves on the way to five shutouts on the season. Fauth also had the unique distinction of scoring a goal when his kick got caught up in the wind, flew 60 yards, bounced once and went over the head of the opposing goalie and into the back of the net.

Johnson was always a threat to score for the Golden Eagles and lead the team with 10 goals on the season. The captain also had a pair of assists.

Other first team members include Ronaldo Pineda of Huron, Nick North of O’Gorman, Rylan Derry of Pierre, Andrew Hirsch and Byron Ochoa of Sioux Falls Jefferson, Simon Woods of Sioux Falls Lincoln, Evan Johnson of Sioux Falls Washington, Zack Williams of Rapid City Stevens, and Jaxson Fiechtner of Watertown.

Aberdeen Central goal keeper Camden Fauth, center, reaches to knock down a shot on goal during a match earlier this season against Huron at the Brownell Activities Complex. Photo by John Davis taken 8/30/2022

Other second team selections are Noah Chan of Brandon Valley, Junior Eberline of Brookings, Sha Sher of Huron, Carter Hanson and Wesley Zimprich of O’Gorman, Rikhav Thakker of Sioux Falls Lincoln, Riley Roe of Rapid City Central, Ryan Gaughan of Rapid City Stevens, Ryan Roby of Watertown, and Braylen Beitz of Yankton.

Honorable Mention are Justin Vest of Brandon Valley, Max Bates of Harrisburg, Moo Gay of Huron, Henry Eckert of Sioux Falls Lincoln, and Kellen Scott of Spearfish.

Purchase a Photo

Browse By Category

Browse By Month

More in Soccer