Connect with us
Subscribe Today!


Area wrestlers grab championships at Groton tourney

Ipswich/Bowdle’s Tanner Frickson, right, tries to turn Webster’s Cael Larson, left, during their 132 pound match at the Groton Wrestling Tournament Saturday. Photo by John Davis taken 1/30/2021

GROTON (By SportScene staff) – Wessington Springs-Woonsocket-Wolsey-Wessington rolled to the team title at the Groton Wrestling Tournament on Saturday. WSWWW scored 190 points. Clark-Willow Lake finished second with 145 points. Groton was fourth with 83.

Clark-Willow Lake finished with four individual weight winners. Joshua Kannegieter topped the field at 106 pounds, Gunnar Kvistad won the 120-pound championship, Lucas Kannegieter captured the 170-pound crown, and Gage Burke pinned his foe in the 182-pound championship.

A trio of Groton wrestlers won individual championships. Dragr Monson remained unbeaten on the way to claiming the 113-pound title with a pin in the final match. Christian Ehresmann also won by fall in the championship match at 126 pounds. Lane Krueger claimed the 195-pound title with a pin in the title bout.

Webster had two individual champs. Cael Larson blanked his foe in the finals at 132 pounds, while Andy Johnson pinned his opponent to win the 145-pound crown.

Team Points: Wessington Springs-Woonsocket-Wolsey Wessington 190, Clark-Willow Lake 145, Watertown JV 130, Groton 83, Milbank JV 60, Ipswich-Leola-Bowdle 58, Webster 54, Warner-Northwestern 53, Potter County 29 1/2, Sioux Falls O’Gorman JV 25, Viborg-Hurley 20, Britton-Hecla 17 1/2.


90-98 – Leo Stroup, WJV, def. Brody Randall, WJV, 6-3.

106 – Joshua Kannegieter, CWL, def. Bryce Hawkinson, BH, 7-4.

113 – Dragr Monson, Gro, pinned Kayden Carter, WSWWW, 2:16.

120 – Gunnar Kvistad, CWL, pinned Markus Pitkin, WJV, 4:41.

126 – Christian Ehresmann, Gro, pinned Elliot Bratland, CWL, 2:12

132 – Cael Larson, Web, def. Joey Heverson, WSWWW, 5-0.

138 – Tate Schlueter, MJV, pinned Ethan McElhone, CWL, 5:55.

145 – Andy Johnson, Web, pinned Brayden LaBore, WSWWW, 4:56.

152 – Keegan Haider, WSWWW, pinned Alex Pudwill, WNW, 1:20.

160 – Carter Grohs, WSWWW, def. Easton Steinbach, WNW, 5-1.

170 – Lucas Kannegieter, CWL, def. Ereic Klanchnik, WSWWW, 11-3.

182 – Gage Burke, CWL, pinned Tyler Eddy, WSWWW, 4:48.

195 – Lane Krueger, Gro, pinned Preston Cavalier, WNW, 3:37.

220 – Micah Hoch, WJV, over Brock Stevens, WSWWW, 10-9.

Hwt. – Quinten Christensen, WSWWW, pinned Collin Graves, VH, 1:08.

Third Place Matches

90-98, Owen Fischer, MJV, def. Cooper Pommer, CWL, 8-5; 106, Nicholas Schlachter, PC, def. RJ Nichols, WJV, 10-3; 113, Braden Le, WJV, pinned Brady Unser, ILB, 2:06; 120, Cale Mohling, WSWWW, pinned Trace Shoemaker, Web, 1:39;

126, Tucker Urdahl, WJV, def. Mason Krause, WJV, 5-0; 132, Brayden Schlachter, PC, def. Tanner Frickson, ILB, 11-2; 138, Owen Spartz, WJV, def. Tyson Eddy, WSWWW, 6-4; 145, Jackson Maag, WJV, over Joseph French, MJV, by forfeit;

152, Jax Kettwig WJV, pinned Cole Bisbee, Gro, :45; 160, Logan Hight, SFOJV, pinned Andrew Stricker, WJV, 1:51; 170, Grant Weisser, ILB, pinned Matthew Peters, WJV, 2:31; 182, Kadyn Weisser, ILB, pinned Alex Munces, SFO, 2:11;

195, Kasey Michalski, CWL, pinned Blake Wientjes, WJV, 2:43; 220, Maddox Hansen, MJV, pinned Anthony Mohn, MJV, :29; Hwt., Lucas Rowland, ILB, def. Avery Nichols, CWL, 6-3.

More in Wrestling