Connect with us
Dacotah Bank


Jung named volleyball Coach of the Year

Warner volleyball coach Kari Jung, center, talks to her team between sets during the Class B semifinal match against Wolsey-Wessington at the South Dakota State Volleyball Championships last fall in the Denny Sanford Premier Center in Sioux Falls. Jung has been named the Volleyball Coach of the Year. Photo by John Davis taken 11/18/2022


Warner volleyball coach Kari Jung is among the Coach of the Year recipients for fall sports as announced by the South Dakota High School Coaches Association.

Jung guided the Monarchs to the Class B state championship this past season.

Among the nominees for the awards were Merle Aske of Aberdeen Central for girls’ soccer, Jessica Larson of Potter County for girls’ cross country, Tom McGough of Miller for boys’ cross country, and Tom Salmen of Hitchcock-Tulare for football.

The winners will be recognized at the annual awards banquet on Sunday, June 16 in conjunction with the South Dakota High School Coaches Association Clinic in North Sioux City.

Here are the Coach of the Year winners for each sport, followed by the other nominees:

Cheer: Cami Bacon, Dell Rapids St. Mary’s (Val Ewing, Winner; Eve Langerock, Harrisburg; Diedra Nissen, Sioux Falls Jefferson; Quiana Pardee, Sioux Falls Roosevelt).

Dance: Lynsey Andal, Beresford (Carey Baczwaski, Dakota Valley; Ashley Hoffman, Brandon Valley; Misty Mousseaux-Begay, Lakota Tech; Amanda Stoeser, Pierre).

Girls’ Soccer: Mark Anderson, Tea Area (Merle Aske, Aberdeen Central; Cori Bonte, Sioux Falls Roosevelt; Eric Christensen, Harrisburg; Kelli Herman, Sioux Falls Lincoln).

Boys’ Soccer: Jeff Fierro, Rapid City Stevens (Ryan Beier, O’Gorman; Alex Nelson, Sioux Falls Lincoln; Ephron Pover, Sioux Falls Christian; Nate Sales, St. Thomas More).

Girls’ Cross Country: Jesse Coy, Rapid City Stevens (Holly Evans, Chamberlain; Jessica Larson, Potter County; Luke VanderLeest, Sioux Falls Christian; Jeani Vincent, Arlington).

Boys’ Cross Country: Jesse Coy, Rapid City Stevens (Jeremy Elsom, Belle Fourche; Ralph Kroetch, Philip; Tom McGough, Miller; Joey Noyes, Hill City).

Football: Lex Heathershaw, Wall (Vince Benedetto, Sioux Falls Jefferson; Jordan Huska, Dell Rapids; Tom Salmen, Hitchcock-Tulare; Steve Steele, Pierre; Jacob Terry, Elk Point-Jefferson).

Volleyball: Kari Jung, Warner (Ronette Costain, Harrisburg; Beth Donnelly, Sioux Falls Jefferson; Melissa Erickson, Elkton-Lake Benton; Erin Kuper, Elk Point-Jefferson; Jean O’Hara, Chester Area).

Last year’s winners were Cheer: Misty Mousseaux-Begay, Lakota Tech; Dance: Ashley Hoffman, Brandon Valley; Girls’ Soccer: Cori Bonte, Sioux Falls Roosevelt; Boys’ Soccer: Dave Dannenbring, Yankton; Girls’ Cross Country: Holly Evans, Chamberlain; Boys’ Cross Country: Tom McGough, Miller; Football: Brandon White, Harrisburg; Volleyball: Dennis Northrup, Garretson.

Purchase a Photo

Browse By Category

Browse By Month

More in General