Connect with us

Men's Basketball

Men’s basketball greats going into SDIC Hall of Fame

MADISON – The South Dakota Intercollegiate Conference will be inducting 15 new members into its Men’s Basketball Hall of Fame.

The list includes three former Northern State players, Billy Christensen, Terry Jordre and the late Gerald Sayler.

The Hall of Fame Banquet is set for 1 p.m. Wednesday, Nov. 30 at the Prime Time in Madison. Seating is limited and reservations are required. For tickets contact Myron Moen at 605-651-8322. The inductees will be honored that evening at halftime of the Dakota Wesleyan-Dakota State men’s basketball game.

Here is a look at each of this year’s inductees:

Gene Applewick, Madison (Dakota State), Brad Bouche, Mitchell (Black Hills State), Bruce Bad Moccasin, Pierre (South Dakota Tech, Billy Christensen, Canton (Northern State), Steve Hammer, Pierpont (Huron College), Mick Hoglund, Hamlin (Sioux Falls College), Terry Jordre, Corona (Northern State), Jim Martin, Chamberlain (Dakota Wesleyan), Tom Miller, Stickney (Dakota Wesleyan), Jeff Palzgraf, Rockford, Ill. (South Dakota Tech), Jim Stoebner, Tripp (Dakota Wesleyan), the late Riley Goza, Rockford, Ill. (Dakota Wesleyan), the late Lon Nelson, Clark (USD-Springfield), the late Gerald Sayler, Aberdeen (Northern State), and the late Jeff Stevens, Fargo, N.D. (Black Hills State).

Former Pierpont standout Steve Hammer receives a ball from Dr. Theodore Hohm after Hammer broke the Huron College all-time scoring record. Hammer will be inducted in the SDIC Hall of Fame at the end of the month. Courtesy photo

Other Northern State men’s basketball players already in the SDIC Hall of Fame include Rich Andrzejewski, Gary Evjen, DuWayne Groos, Jim Kampen, Mel Klein, Mo Mack, Harry Marske, Marv Rasmussen, Jim Schlekeway and Coach Bob Wachs.

For more information go to

Purchase a Photo

Browse By Category

Browse By Month

More in Men's Basketball