Connect with us
Dacotah Bank

Cross Country

Area coaches win Cross Country coaching awards

Class B girls run past fans and the fall foliage at the South Dakota State Cross Country Meet at Yankton Trail Park in Sioux Falls. Photo by John Davis taken 1023/2021

A group of individuals were honored as Coach of the Year by the South Dakota Cross Country and Track and Field Coaches Association.

Area winners include Kris Boekelheide of Northwestern who was selected for Class B in Area 2, Eric Townsend of Milbank Area for Class A in Area 1, and Tom McGough of Miller for Class B 1 in Area 1.

Matt Osborne of Aberdeen Central was chosen as Assistant Coach of the Year for Class AA in the West division in Area 4. Hillary Smith of Miller was selected as the assistant for Class B in Area 2.

Other Coach of the Year recipients include Luke Vander Leest of Sioux Falls Christian for Class A in Area 2, and Alyssa Gilbertson of Tea Area as middle school assistant in Area 2, Aaron Strand of O’Gorman for Class AA Boys and Luke Jelen of Sioux Falls Lincoln for Class AA Girls in the East division of Area 2, Holly Evans of Chamberlain for Class A, Stephanie McCord of Kimball-White Lake for Class B, and Dave Touch of West Central for assistant in Area 3, Karen Karem of Custer for Class A, and Ralph Kroetch of Philip Area for Class B in Area 4, and Jesse Coy of Rapid City Stevens for Class AA Boys and Girls in the West division of Area 4.

Dacotah Bank

Purchase a Photo

Browse By Category

Browse By Month

More in Cross Country

Dacotah Bank