Connect with us

Cross Country

Central sweeps Loecker meet in Huron

Aberdeen Central’s Tino Lopez, center, leads teammate Christian Wells, right, as they sprint to the finish line at the Salmi/Sahli Invitational meet at Lee Park Golf Course earlier this season. Lopez was seventh and Wells ninth at a meet in Huron on Thursday. Photo by John Davis taken 9/9/2021

HURON – In their final tune-up for the state meet, the Aberdeen Central cross country teams swept team titles at the Roger Loecker Invitational in Huron on Thursday.

The Golden Eagles, led by race winner Josh Martin, took the boys’ team title with 34 points. The Central girls’ won the team crown with 44 points.

“It was a fun meet. Most of our runners finished their season today,” said Central girls’ coach Bill Martens. “I am really proud of Aberdeen Central cross country. We have a lot of great character student-athletes on the team.”

Kaylie Peldo finished third to lead the Eagles. Morgan VanVeen was seventh and Kiana Joerger 10th. Central also had three other members – Juna Ramey (13th), Alivia Burgard (14th) and Alyssa Roehrich (15th) – in the top 15.

“We had a solid team effort with many of our runners grouped together,” Martens said. “We are looking forward to the state meet.”

Martin won the boys’ race by two seconds. Central had four runners in the top 10, including Jacob Angerhofer who was sixth, Tino Lopez who was seventh and Christian Wells who was ninth.

“The boys had another good day on a hilly and windy course. Huron is a great meet to tune up for the state meet,” said Central boys’ coach Greg Murley. “Our outstanding performance at Brandon Valley (the ESD meet last weekend) prepared us for the challenge that come with the Huron course.”

It marked the final meet for some of the younger Central runners.

“Grades 6 through 12 all had great runs today,” Murley said, “serving as a true testament to their hard work and dedication this season.”

The state meet is Saturday, Oct. 23 in Sioux Falls.


Team Points: Aberdeen Central 34, Brookings 52, Pierre 60, Yankton 90, Huron 135, Watertown 166, Mitchell 218.

Top 15 Finishers

1, Josh Martin, Aberdeen Central, 16:55.25; 2, Samuel Conrad, Brookings, 16:57.26; 3, Hayden Shaffer, Pierre, 17:00.66; 4, Zach Fedee, Yankton, 17:15.39; 5, Jared Lutmer, Pierre, 17:19.28; 6, Jacob Angerhofer, Aberdeen Central 17:24.20; 7, Tino Lopez, Aberdeen Central, 17:26.25; 8, Torry Harding, Brookings, 17:27.45; 9, Christian Wells, Aberdeen Central, 17:29.93; 10, TJ Lien, Huron, 17:32.78;

11, Anthony Miller, Aberdeen Central, 17:46.10; 12, Ernest Ting, Brookings, 17:47.90; 13, Harrison Krajewski, Yankton, 17:55.64; 14, Jonathan Kahler, Brookings, 17:58.05; 15, Blake Judson, Pierre, 18:00.67.

Other Aberdeen Central runners: 21, Ian Ahlberg, 18:16.66; 22, Isaac Ligon, 18:17.95; 25, Skylr Sitter, 18:26.65; 30, Esten Foss, 18:30.99; 37, David VanVeen, 19:01.72; 42, Rylan Johnson, 19:15.26.


Team Points: Aberdeen Central 44, Yankton 55, Brookings 78, Watertown 84, Pierre 89.

Top 15 Finishers

1, Thea Chance, Yankton, 20:26.71; 2, Kate McElroy, Watertown, 20:27.58; 3, Kaylie Peldo, Aberdeen Central, 20:43.61; 4, Josie Vlieger, Huron, 20:47.88; 5, Sophia Petheram, Yankton, 20:49.05; 6, Victoria Smith, Watertown, 20:50.47; 7, Tessa Nelson, Brookings, 21:01.10; 8, Morgan VanVeen, Aberdeen Central, 21:03.17; 9, LizBeth Crosby, Pierre, 21:19.21; 10, Kiana Joerger, Aberdeen Central, 21:21.09;

11, Sydnee Serck, Yankton, 21:27.52; 12, Autumn Iverson, Pierre, 21:28.41; 13, Juna Ramey, Aberdeen Central, 21:30.77; 14, Alivia Burgard, Aberdeen Central, 21:31.02; 15, Alyssa Roehrich, Aberdeen Central, 21:38.87.

Other Aberdeen Central runners: 28, Alexis Ketterling, 23:13.21; 32, Jordan Phillips, 23:37.23; 34, Sadie Struble, 23:53.34; 35, Addison Ward, 23:56.32; 37, Aglaia Ramey, 24:25.33; 38, Aurelia Steiger, 24:29.58; 39, Angelina Lopez, 24:34.93; 41, Faye Calvert, 25:20.33.

Purchase a Photo

Browse By Category

Browse By Month

More in Cross Country

Dacotah Bank